everyone knows it's windy........
food for small animals
Isabel
17 September 2003
5:30 p.m.

Well it seems like forever, doesn't it?

Once again I've been in and out of town so much that I hardly know what day it is (though today is most definitely my mommy's birthday - so at least I know that much!).

Was up in DC for meetings at NOAA and our architects for a few days, then a quick anniversary trip to Charlottesville to see Carbon Leaf (quite possibly my favourite band at the moment - it's really between them and The Hackensaw Boys right now).

I know that there are some of you wondering why we went on a second trip for our anniversary (some of you I'm sure don't care, but indulge me here). I don't remember if I mentioned it or not, but in August we went to Floyd Fest for the anniversary of the day that we thought we got married seven years ago. This past weekend we celebrated the day that all the paperwork was legal (long story - I should tell it here sometime). So there you go. We saw the show at Starr Hill where we also had dinner and it was oh so yummy.

The past several days we've been preparing like crazy for Isabel, though it's still anybody's guess as to how heavily we'll be affected here. The wind is already kicking things up and it looks as though it will only get worse. Ye Olde Boat Museum is now completely encased in plastic (ok, maybe not completely) and we are closed for the next several days because of all the trees that are certainly going to start falling in the next day or so. We've had so much rain that it's inevitable.

Speaking of rain - here it comes.....

Despite the fact that everywhere around us has been evacuated, most folks in our neighborhood are staying put. We're on a little high spot in th midst of the marsh - and the way we look at it is that if we didn't flood for Floyd, we sure don't plan on doing it for Isabel.

Anyway - gotta go tie the boats down. I would hate to launch a kayak into my next door neighbors house!

Everybody out there take care...

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Isabel

thinking about:

wind

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix