'de ting....de ting on de back of de boat...it broke, mon.......'
food for small animals
new acquisitions and thoughts on oatmeal
12 May 2003
7:33 p.m.

Right - so I just wrote a wonderfully long, heart-felt entry about this weekend - which the computer promptly ate.

But the weekend was special enough that I'm going to try it again - once more, with feeling.

*deep breath*

I acquired a new sister-in-law this weekend, and a fine thing that is, too. Karen is one of the most wonderful people in all creation, and now I'm related to her. I can't think of a better present that brother-in-law Steve could have given me.

I've known Karen since about the first day that I lived in Virginia. She was dating a guy I worked with and she and I bonded straightaway. in fact, when boyfriend/later hubby Tom had to attend a social function and Karen had to work, she would call me to be a stand-in for her. We looked vaguely alike, so it was quite humorous - especially when the party participants were drunk and confused.

Anyway - flash forward a few years - Karen and Tom part their ways, Steve and his wife go their separate ways, and on Mothers' Day a bunch of years ago, Steve brought Karen home to meet the family. What seemed like a few million years later, they got married.

To make a long story short - I'm so very happy.

Here they are with their festive cake.

To make the weekend even more fun, we had to take the ferry 'cross to Surrey for the nuptials and what to my wondering eyes should appear but the Godspeed - the little barky with whom I have a love/hate relationship.

See - I spent some quality time with her in October of 1991.

Halloween to be precise.

Being blown backwards with engine full throttle down the Chesapeake Bay, with the sound of distress signals ringing in our ears as ships less protected than us were going down.

(Speaking of - did you know that oatmeal tastes the same coming up as it does going down? I learned this during 'The Perfect Storm' also)

Anyway - here she is - on Landing Day 2003 - the crew hallooed us as we waited for the ferry.

Sigh - some of the most perfect and profound moments of my life were on that ship.

Ah well - it's a good sort of sigh.

Anway - the weekend ended with Anne Marie's birthday and much fun was had by all. Here she is showing the world how old she is.

Better save this before the compooter gets hungry again......

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

wind

thinking about:

green water over the deck

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix