come monday, it'll be alright........
food for small animals
kids!
20 April 2003
10:44 p.m.

Not a lot to say right at the moment.

The past week has been too intense, too insane to allow me even a few moments pause to think about it.

I was in DC for several days - lots of intensity there and so very much at stake. All went well, and there's so much to say that I'll just have to say it when I can.

The one thing I did want to say tonight, though - is that I am so incredibly fortunate to have so many wonderful kids in my life - which is kind of ironic since everyone knows that I don't plan on ever having one of my own.

I am so overwhelmed though by all of them.

There's Clare, my goddaughter, who is quite possibly the most beautiful almost-six-year-old on the planet. And smart! Her mommy is home schooling her right now because of some extenuating circumstances and boy is it working! Clare is as smart as a whip and getting more brilliant and beautiful every day. Here she is just recently.

Then there's Mae - who just turned 9 months old and is as sweet as can be. I got to see her while I was in DC working, and I must say that I highly recommend hanging out with this baby. She's as cute as anything and didn't scream when I held her, so that's a big thumbs up in my book. Here she is - you might have seen this picture before - but why not see it again?

Then today, I got to see my nephews - all four of them. Harry is almost 18 and just got accepted into VCU. He's in a band called 'The Filth' and I'm trying to figure out a way to hire them to play some event. I've not heard them yet, but Harry reminds me so much of me at that age that I've got a real soft spot in my heart for him. I'll probably will all of my vinyl LPs to him. I think he's one of the few folks in my family that would appreciate them. He's an incredible drummer, and fun to hang out with. He also introduced me to the culinary marvel that is chocolate cake with bacon. You really should try it sometime.... it's yummy!

Gordon is 16 and is quite possibly every parent's dream (and I mean that in every possible good way). He's insanely smart, cute, and funny as can be. He's got an incredibly dry wit - always had, from the moment I met him when he was 5 or 6 I think. Anyway - he's a wondeful guy and so much fun to be around - and surprisingly, he actually likes hanging around all us old people.

Bo and Andy are the twins - they're about to turn 6 - which means that I'm old. I don't get to see them very often, but they were at the house today for an Easter Egg hunt. Bo is the quiet, reserved one, with a deep private side that he doesn't share with just anyone. Andy is outgoing, mischevious (in a good way), and psychic (I'm not joking - maybe one day I'll elaborate for those of you who don't know about it already).

Anyway - I've been thinking about saying something about all of them lately, and so now I have. And it's not nearly as great as I would like it to be, but it's late, and I'm so very tired.

But I'm so very lucky.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

nothing

thinking about:

way too much

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix