first to fall over when the atmosphere is less than perfect....
food for small animals
radio radio
16 March 2003
11:27 p.m.

So another class has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame � which means mostly that I�m another year older and that the music is receding further and further into the past. This year, I�m feeling old because of Elvis Costello and the Attractions, The Clash, and of course, The Police � all bands that in my mind just came out � what was it � last year?

Jesus Christ but it�s hard to believe. To their credit, none of them look so much older that it hurts. I mean � Elvis has gained a bit of weight and has slightly cooler glasses, Mick Jones�s face is sliding south a tad, and let�s face it � Andy Summers really is old. Steve Nieve is still cute, though, and while I wonder what Paul Simonon was hiding under his hat, I must say that he still looks pretty darn good. Stewart Copeland is definitely Peter Pan still. And Sting. Well.

Speaking of Sting � I suppose you all know about Fiction Plane. I�ve heard a few songs off the album (though no one around here seems to have it in stock) and I must say that it�s quite good. I�m impressed that they aren�t trying to capitalize on daddy�s fame � something I�ve always found appealing about the Wallflowers as well. Of course � I �ve just discovered that they played a couple of weeks ago in a tiny club in Norfolk and I missed it � mainly because our paper doesn�t list everything and I�m admittedly a little bit out of it when it comes to the local scene.

Hell � I�ve been out of the music scene for a long time period. Kinda sad actually. It�s so strange to not be completely plugged in to everything that�s going on. Sometimes I miss the record business and my old radio show. Course � I was miserable for most of the �80�s, so I only miss it but so much�.

Oh � I ate my way through history again yesterday. This was the fourth time I think that I was asked to be a cooking judge for Jamestown Settlement�s Military Through the Ages program. Between noon and 4 p.m. yesterday I had eight meals that ranged from 553 A.D. to 1944. There was some incredible stuff offered and I can�t say enough good things about every single unit that entered the competition. Some years there are those groups that just don�t try � but not this year. Wild turkey, goose, duck, rabbit, croaker, eel, venison, quail � you name it. This is not a job for the faint of heart (or weak of stomach) either. You have to take it on faith that what they�re feeding you will neither kill you nor make you violently ill. And you pretty much have to try everything offered to be fair. Anyway � a splendid time was had by all, and I only had to take a few doses of antacid afterwards.

Right � it�s getting late and I�m purely rambling here. Time to collapse.

Later.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

The Police

thinking about:

Miss Gradenko

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix