Vindaloo...vindaloo...and we all like vindaloo...(we're England!)...we're going to score one more than you!!
food for small animals
trolls take manhattan
17 January 2003
9:05 p.m.

I got a phone call last night around 10:30 from our Chief Operating Officer telling me to play hooky today. Not a bad thing since we got 6 or 7 inches of snow and the Museum is way the heck back a windy road in the woods. So I spent the day doing all those things that one needs to do and never seems to have time to do - you know, like laundry.

Also, it was nice to have a day off so I can decompress before the great pilgrimage to New York tomorrow.

We're flying - if you're wondering.

In fact, we're flying first class - a thing I've never done before - considering I'm a troll what lives under a bridge and eats billy goats and all....

We're staying in/near/sort of right by Soho and have reservations at both Mesa Grill and the River Cafe (home of some of the yummiest fois gras ever).

I have to work on Monday (which is a holiday - but since I am working in NYC, it doesn't seem like work).

I'm reminded of a couple of trips to New York back in '78 and '79, I think - back when my goal in life was to live in Greenwich Mews and hang out daily with Patti Smith, Tom Verlaine and Tina Weymouth.

Yeah, right. But that's what being 14 is all about, and it was such a great trip. I remember having some of my best friends with me on those trips - and being allowed to go about the city on my own by my Latin teacher - Puer Saylor. Unbelievable - I got to drag a bunch of folks - with no adult supervision - to Greenwich Village to go to Bleecker Bobs. On one trip we went to the late movie - it was Hair I think, and Richard and I got separated from all of the rest of the group. Here we were - 14 or 15 years old, in the middle of New York City (near Times Square) at 1 or 2 o'clock in the morning.

That was fun. I mean - nobody died, and we found our way back to the Taft hotel with no incident.

Well - I should go pack now.

Ah - before I forget - I got tix to the Sigur Ros show in DC in March. I don't know anyone else who likes them so it will likely be just me, myself, and I for the show.

Later.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Food Network

thinking about:

Eel pie and black pudding

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix