'...aside from that.....how was the play?'
food for small animals
is it faster to New York or by bus?
14 January 2003
8:38 p.m.

Great god a'mighty but I am tired. I couldn't sleep last night and indications are that I probably won't tonight either. Things at work are at such a furious pace and so very intense that it's a wonder any of us are functioning beyond the vegetable level at the moment.

We submitted a lovely proposal today for our website - and I worked with another museum (if I told you who they were I would have to kill you) on supporting materials for their proposal. So I haven't had much sleep.

In addition, we got such a distressing email today (if I told you who it was from I would have to kill you)that I am almost at a loss for how to respond. Let's just say that if this person is an accurate barometer of the group he claims to represent (if I told you who they were they would have to kill me right after I killed you) then I grieve for the day we ever agreed to be associated with them. But associated we are and so I must grit my teeth and bear it. But I can think evil thoughts, can't I?

But all is not so forlorn. I also discovered today that I would get to spend some quality time in what my boss refers to as "God's Country." More accurately, that would be New York City. Given some of the restaurants I've frequented there, I would have to agree with him. Now the question for me is - do I fly or do I take the train?

Flying is obviously the quickest (and actually the cheapest) way to get there. But I have seen the wonder that is Amtrak and I can testify that the train is certainly my favourite way to go. It is the lowest stress form of travel I have ever experienced. Yes, you stop for every cow, frog, or microbe on the tracks and no, you almost never arrive on time, but my god what a wonderful time in between.

I mean that.

We went to NYC back in May and it was one of the bestest forays into that part of the world that I have had. I know that we could have driven there in the same amount of time that it took on the train - but the point was - we weren't driving. Someone else was. And that someone had beer that we could purchase and enjoy while someone else drove. We were taken into the heart of Gotham and the cab fare to the hotel was miniscule. We did not have to sit on the tarmac, eat stale pretzels, or take the cab ride from hell from LaGuardia.

So I don't know. My heart says to take the train but my head says to fly. We'll see. I have to make the arrangements tomorrow as we will leave on Friday or Saturday.

Yes, Jim gets to go with me - which is perfect as his birthday is next week and I can take him somewhere cool for his birthday dinner.

Any suggestions?

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

nothing in particular

thinking about:

evil evil thoughts

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix