A Elbereth Gilthoniel! Silivren penna miriel...or something like that...
food for small animals
I was once elected queen of the geeks, you know
12 January 2003
9:46 p.m.

Yow! I spent most of the weekend the victim of a really nasty asthma attack. But with that said, it still felt like a really full and wonderful weekend - though truthfully I slept through a lot of it.

We finally went and spent some of our Christmas gift certificates this weekend. I also managed to snag a copy of the extended DVD of Fellowship of the Ring.

That's right - my true geekiness has come out. You have no idea. In junior high I used to take notes in Elvish. I passed notes in Norse runes and could read them as well as English. I knew the entire lineage of Elendil and could tell you with no hesitation what a silmaril was.

I'm not quite as good at it now, but it's still frightening when I can quote passages from memory.

So I bought it - though I have yet to dive into it. We'll see what happens!

I found another DVD I want this weekend, though I haven't yet purchased it. It's The Nightporter - quite possibly one of the most disturbing love stories I've ever seen. It came out in 1974 - I probably saw it ten years later or so and though I only saw it once, it has remained with me more than most movies. I don't know what that says about me, though I suppose I shouldn't care, really.

Also purchased The Soundtrack of Our Lives CD today. Until now I've only heard "Sister Surround" but if the rest of the album is anything like that, then I think I'll be happy.

My my, it's getting a bit late. I was here at the computer working on an IMLS Learning Opportunities grant proposal for Ye Olde Boat Museum. If we get it it will allow us to create the most kick-butt historical resource site ever known to mankind.

OK - so maybe I'm exaggerating. But it'll be really cool.

I'm tired. Asthma has a way of doing that to you. Later!

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

The Soundtrack of Our Lives

thinking about:

Christopher Columbus

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix