just as the moon had passed below the horizon, they were lost, and the Monitor...was seen no more...
food for small animals
almost hogmanay
31 December 2002
5:50 p.m.

Well - I suppose this is my last entry for 2002. It's been a pretty decent year, I suppose, and I can only hope that 2003 is at least as good.

We're not planning on a big evening tonight, and that's good. I'm exhausted from the holidays and work. We had a big family event at Ye Olde Boat Museum this past weekend that was nice, but tiring. Carson and Anne Marie did an 1859 Medicine show, then Bob Zentz (one of my favouritest people in the world) played a set which included some C. Fox Smith poems set to music. He's got a new CD coming out soon of all C. Fox Smith stuff and I've heard it and it's wonderful! I'm not sure when it's out, but I'm sure you'll hear about it here when it does come out!

Steve Keith also played an incredible set that was a perfect ending to a fun day. You need to get his CD "Fresh Fish." (No, he did not pay me to say that!)

Today was Tracey's last day at work - we threw her a big breakfast party, gave her a gift, and made her turn bright red at lunch. Then we came back, had some champagne (private museums rule!) and I recounted the sinking of the USS Monitor - which occurred 140 years ago today - to about 56 guests at the Museum. My voice is shot since I was standing on top of the turret tank, reading the names of the dead to the assembled throngs.

Anyway - there's much more I'm sure I could say tonight - but it will probably have to wait for another year. I thought I'd post a few photos of a New Years' Past - 1999/2000.

Let's see... that's Martin, Matt, Lexy, Addie, Mike and Jim. We were at Clava Cairns near Inverness (second cairn on the left)and it was insanely cold.

On Hogmanay, we went to the Beefeater restaurant and had...well, beef. Here's Matt and Lexy playing with their cracker prizes.

Gotta run - we're grilling a drunk chicken tonight and the cat is licking Jim's hair.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Food Network

thinking about:

16 hands

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix