the master ought to take the napkin from before the mariners three times before he send them out of the ship...
food for small animals
oleron mambo
08 February 2005
11:37 p.m.

So today was interesting in that way that random days are interesting.

I found myself in a coffee house reading the 'Black Book of the Admiralty' - which has such interesting rulings dating all the way back to Richard I - and lots and lots of Latin. Really really awful, medieval Latin (which - if anyone wanted to know is the language I offered to pass my Masters and Doctoral exams - yes, nasty, impossible Medieval Latin - and a language I haven't read seriously since 1989...). And it was interesting in the way that only I can find interesting. I was giggling and nodding my head as though talking to an old friend.

Of course, I was reading about drawing and quartering... but hey, a girl's got to have her interests, right?

But what made the day even better was the 15 year old kid sitting a few feet away who was breathing heavily and reading the 'KISS - Keep It Simple Stupid Guide to the Kama Sutra.'

You know - I've got to give the kid points for the audacity of it - I mean - everyone in the place knew that's what he was reading. There was no furtive hiding of the book inside another book - he was letting the world know what he was reading.

Gotta love the 21st century, that's all I can say.

Tonight - we celebrated Mardi Gras by making a wicked good Crawfish Etoufee - complete with a 35 minute roux that I must say I was mighty proud of. It was a lovely deep butterscotch colour and gave the etoufee an incredibly decadent silky texture.

To make the holiday even more interesting - we decided to give up Lent for Lent for the 13th year in a row.

Of course - Moravians never did give up anything for Lent.....

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Iron Chef

thinking about:

purple, green and gold

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix