o se howe welle owre good shyp sayles!
food for small animals
it came with a free hall and oates tape...
22 December 2004
5:38 p.m.

I left the world of Hakluyt today to venture into Ye Olde Boat Museum to drop off holiday gifties for all and sundry. Many hugs all around and lots of encouragement for my dissertatin' self.

Davey Jones (who does have a locker) spent a fair amount of time trying to sell me a vintage 1970s 8-track player that still works. If I didn't already have way too many old radios and stereos, I might just have taken him up on it. I suppose I may regret turning it down at some point in the future, but the fact that the thing looked as though the mothership had just landed and more than likely wanted to eat my brains just kept the $20 firmly in my pocket.

Following that bit of fun, I ventured to parts west, to the colonial wonder that is Williamsburg to infiltrate the new library at William and Mary.

This ain't your old library, kids. I had to get a map just to find my way around. But after a few wrong turns, I found the dear old copy of Boteler and curled up with it once more. Lord love the dialogue format, I say.

And lord love a new library - I was actually able to spend some quality time in the DAs without sneezing my head off - that darn dusty nauticalia....

Finally I'm back home and just got the killer news that Dublingirl's Greg passed all his tests and whatnot and is going to be a real live police officer!! So huzzahs to Greg - I can't tell you how awesome this is!

Well - back to the writing, kiddies. If my dissertation is supposed to be about maritime social history from the keel up - then I've barely made it past the garboard strake.

ouch.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

belle and sebastian

thinking about:

police-y type things

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix