cranberry sauce......
food for small animals
talking at you wireless
03 April 2004
11:18 a.m.

So I'm at this conference about Museums and the Web and my inner geek - long dormant, just came out this week. I'm one of the furtive little scurrying things that you see in the shadows of conferences, permanently attached to a wireless laptop looking for the best hot spot so I can log all the important sites that I'm hearing about in the sessions. You see it everywhere here - I swear to you I just saw two guys carrying on a conversation between two PDAs.

OK - so I'm not that bad...

It's really kind of funny that I didn't go into computers ages ago. I mean, I ran a BBS on my Commodore 64, for goodness sakes! I remember you had to shout through the modem if you were actually calling me on the telephone, as I only had one line...

But, I didn't go that way - and I guess I'm happy about that. In terms of technology I think I make a better end user than a programmer.

But you know, conferences can sometimes be good things in that they remind you what it is you love about your job and confront you with all the possibilities inherent in that job. Some of the things I've seen here border on the magical and theoretically I should be able to accomplish most of these things over time.

Kinda frightening, but kinda exhilirating too at the same time.

Well - things are winding to a close today at the geekfest and I'll be heading to Richmond to see the Hackensaw Boys yet again. I'm not sure I'd ever tire of seeing them - they're one of the most exciting bands I've seen in a long time (and I think I've said that here before). It will be a nice end to a long, intense week - or perhaps a nice beginning to an equally long week.

It's times like these that I must thrive on. I'm not sure I'd know any other way.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

hushed geeky whispers

thinking about:

the torture board

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix