oh my goodness, oh my golly, oh my ruby pearl........
food for small animals
a weekend full of (good) noise
28 March 2004
10:08 p.m.

The weekend is rapidly drawing to a close, and I'm grabbing at every little bit of it to keep it from slipping away.

It was a good weekend, following on the heels of a very stressful week. One needs a good weekend in situations like that.

Friday night we went to a new restaurant across the street from us and saw Red Metric - a three piece wall of sound from the Williamsburg area who are trying to make their mark in the evil world of music. Their drummer Mike is the husband of a friend/colleague of ours whom we've known for about 15 years - and while he spent a good portion of his life training to be a marine biologist, music got the better part of him and I do think it suits him.

It was so much fun going to a show at a small place (and Patostas is definitely small) and seeing a local band that does all original stuff. It's one of the things I missed when I moved up here. In some small way I got that back on Friday night.

Anyway - give Red Metric a try. You might just like them!

Then on Saturday we headed to Charlottesville to see Robert Earl Keen at Starr Hill. We'd had this planned since January, but the timing couldn't have been better. I needed that kind of night out in a smallish music hall listening to one of my favourite musicians.

But what was even cooler was that they announced last week who his opeing act would be - and it was none other than John Eddie!

I've only just discovered John Eddie in the past year thanks to a link I found on Amigamaster's website. Anyway - he was fabulous.

As was Robert Earl Keen, of course. We've lost count of how many times we've seen him now - but every show is different so it's always a great experience.

Well - I'm avoiding the inevitable. I should probably pretend to sleep at the very least.

Happy Sunday, y'all.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Old Crow Medicine Show

thinking about:

Friday's (in Greensboro)

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix