an it harm none........
food for small animals
vikings, rangers and me
23 March 2004
7:22 p.m.

I really don't know why I'm sitting here looking at a computer when that's all I've been doing for 8 hours today at work.

We have a deadline that's looming for content delivery on our new website which will be located at the current Monitor Center site. I think it will be launched in April or May - but my deadline is Friday.

So once again, the year is 1862 and I've been living with George Geer and William Keeler today.

They're both quite dead, I might add.

But I've been picking through their letters, line by line, to find the material that will bring the cheesebox on a raft to life for our virtual visitors. At this point I should be cross-eyed and drooling.

I survived the judging this weekend at Military Through the Ages. I ate seven historical meals in four hours and only took 4 Tums in the process. The Vikings tied for first place with Roger's Rangers.

(I'm quite sure that sentence has never been uttered before on this earth...)

The Vikings made fresh bread, cheese, and butter on site, along with roasted stuffed duck, a proto-beef stroganoff, and all sort of other things I can't even remember. Their interpretation was impeccable and I think that everyone who visited their site had a great time.

Roger's Rangers only served food that they had either foraged, butchered, or killed themselves. We had a mess of wild greens - water cress, dandelion and something else I can't remember, a stew of wild ginger, Jerusalem artichoke, Queen Anne's lace root, and ginger beer, the best home cured pork tenderloin ever, candied wild ginger, and fresh roasted coffee that put Starbucks and7-11 to shame. Their display (not to mention the food) was absolutely amazing! These guys are incredible.

What a cool job. Sometimes I feel so darn lucky to be able to do what I do....

ah well - back to 1862.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

nada

thinking about:

cheese

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix