I love a man in uniform...
food for small animals
tasting weevils
19 March 2004
5:53 p.m.

Well first off, it's Friday, which is purely wonderful in my book. We ended the work week with a mandatory Marketing and Education meeting at Mike's Place where we spent 2 hours NOT talking about work.

Which is hard to do, you know.

But we had a grand time with good food and libations at one of my favourite places to hang out. Thank goodness for having great folks to work with. I wouldn't trade a single one of 'em.

I am gearing up for tomorrow when I eat my way through history yet again. It's Military Through the Ages at Jamestown Settlement and I am a cooking judge once more.

It's one of those volunteer gigs that I'm not sure I'll ever get tired of (though honestly, they should probably rotate judges every once in awhile for fairness... but I really really love doing it so I won't suggest it). 20 reenactment groups will be vying for ribbons in best camp, best costumes, best tactical demonstration and best cooking.

The medieval groups tend to do very well because most of what they fix is highly involved and very unusual. I still remember the year one group fixed 'fish three ways' where the head was fried, the body steamed and the tail sauteed - but the fish was intact! I always look forward to what they'll come up with.

I keep telling some of the groups that they would score points if they would stick to authentic and not worry about whether a 21st centuy palate likes the taste. But they don't seem to listen. And I have yet to have a group serve me food with weevils in it. That would score big points with me because it would be about as accurate as you can get!

But they all do a great job and it's a day of fun and I look forward to sampling all the creativity.

Not much else to talk about right now, really. Oh - except for the fact that I scored number 6 on this highly amusing search...

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

NPR

thinking about:

peanut coffee

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix