wee sleekit, cowerin' timrous beastie....
food for small animals
and then there's maude
04 April 2003
4:51 p.m.

Not much going on at the moment. I came home early from work because I could, and now have a contented kitty napping in my lap.

Yesterday was not a great day as days go. I rather knew that it wouldn't be when Maude the rat refused to eat her yogurt chip (that's her in the back of the picture - always demure and unassuming). I was afraid to leave her but couldn't get out of a few obligations.

I knew when she died - sensed it as I was headed back home. By the time I walked in the door, she was gone - having departed maybe five minutes before. Maybe less.

Dorothy spent all night and part of this morning looking for her - inspecting every inch of the cage. She even set aside the treats that I gave her - dividing them neatly in half - presumably saving them for Maude.

Rats are so small - but the hurt is as big as anything.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

silence

thinking about:

Maude

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix