the snakes crawl at night - that's what they say!
food for small animals
I said never
02 December 2002
6:19 p.m.

Ahhhh...back to work today, and what a day it was. I spent the better part of the day working on a PowerPoint presentation for our Board meeting tomorrow - which is about as exciting as it sounds.

I also found out that I get to go wax poetic about the little cheesebox at the Smithsonian this weekend. Not that remarkable an event as these things go - but what's so strange to me about it is the fact that my friend Carolyn back in high school kinda predicted this event.

What she actually said to me was something along the lines of 'one day you'll be a museum curator and be lecturing at the Smithsonian.' Of course I scoffed at her at the time because everyone knew I was gonna be a rock star...... ok - well - at least I knew I was..... And I remember writing in my diary back then - 'I hate history! When will I ever use any of this information in real life?!?'

Ah...never say never!

OK - so I guess technically in museum parlance my position is Curator of Education (at least in some parts of the world) and I am lecturing at the Smithsonian with John Broadwater this weekend so you could say that Carolyn's prediction came true.

I wish I knew where she was.

Ennyhoo - it'll be fun and I can say I did it and if I ever see Carolyn I can tell her about it and she can point and laugh at me.

Strange how you never quite know how things are going to turn out - and yet, you've been headed in that direction all along.

So if you're anywhere near the Smithsonian this Saturday - come on by and watch me talk lovingly about an iron ship that has no sails.

Who woulda thought it?

I guess Carolyn did.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Death Penalty Ballads

thinking about:

cheese

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix