food for small animals
Jesus loves you - but Harry Potter's his favourite
2002-11-13
11:19 p.m.

Right. So I watched a biography of J.K. Rowling tonight and I'm so psyched up for the next Harry Potter movie that I can't stand myself. The sad thing is that I will not be able to go on opening day, despite my best intentions. I cannot call in sick nor feign an injury because I have too many meetings and other annoying responsibilities to be able to easily sneak off and see it.

I know, I know - I'm too old to be doing that kind of thing.

Or am I?

See - the Harry Potter books make me feel like such a kid again. They make me remember the first time I read C.S. Lewis or Madeleine L'Engle or J.R.R. Tolkein. They are, in short, the other children's books that I wish had been written when I was a child. They have that same magical feel - the feeling that you really could find another world in a wardrobe, that elves really existed and that you really could travel through time. I wanted to live a magical life. I wanted to be that lion, that witch, or in that wardrobe. Of course - some would say that I'm already there.;)

I don't get this whole notion that Harry Potter is satanic or dangerous. Harry isn't evil - but of course, most people who speak ill of him would never know that because god forbid that they should actually read the book. Goes to show you how little people know about the world around them. I really feel sorry for people so naive that they aren't willing to think for themselves - or at least do a little research.....

Anyway - huzzah to Harry Potter and to Ron and Hermione and Dumbledore and even Snape! And kudos to J.K. Rowling for creating platform 9 and 3/4 at King's Cross. It's somewhere I know that I can always go when things get me down. I'd really love to be there right now.....

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

thinking about:

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix