food for small animals
Safe Return Doubtful
2002-04-23
7:02 p.m.

The obsession begins again....

It must have been in 11th grade when it began the first time. I had a map of Antarctica in my room, marked with the latitudes and longitudes of various fictional voyages and explorations. At the Mountains of Madness and The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym come to mind.

It came back again - just recently. I can blame the popular media for some of it. The Caroline Alexander book and movie, the Nova special, the A&E movie and Biography of Shackleton. There's also the National Maritime Museum's show South: the race to the pole that I still haven't been able to get out of my head.

But what is it? Why do Oates' final words get to me so? "I am just going outside now. I may be some time..." Why does it resonate so deeply? Why does the phrase "Safe Return Doubtful" stir my blood? And why do I feel this overwhelming urge to go to South Georgia Island? My god - I get seasick on the Chesapeake Bay! What would the roaring 40s do to me?

I don't know the answers to any of these questions - so I'll just curl up with a glass of wine and the biography of Tom Crean and be content.

For now.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

thinking about:

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix