hang on to me and i'll hang on to you....
food for small animals
mr. welch
20 May 2008
11:10 p.m.


We drove to the end of the land, to a land where we don't belong, yet we are welcomed. To a land where the view is sublime, yet the surroundings sobering. Where the flood robbed him of furniture, but not of spirit.

We entered the home of a genius - no furniture - but consumed in art. Stacks of paintings - boxes, closets, walls...full. Each as wonderful as the first, the last. Each an incredible discovery. Each one a blessing.

And he gave me three paintings...I wanted to pay. I wanted to give him something in return - yet he would accept nothing - saying that at nearly age 90 he had provided for himself, though I am unsure just how. And I worry.

I want to laugh. I want to cry. I want to let the world know that this....this...is why I do what I do.

This is why we all do what we do - and why my colleague Tom is a giant among men, and why we all need to continue...to continue.

And I feel so unworthy. And I feel so desperate to do something.

And I feel so lucky.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

my heart

thinking about:

the east end...and the roads

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix