...and you're the funny little frog in my thro-at......
food for small animals
i can put the word 'fortnight' on my CV now....
20 February 2006
6:50 p.m.

I've spent a fair amount of time on the road lately doing lectures about the ickle cheesebox and what a long, strange, awesome trip it's been.

It started back in January - I was invited - along with our CEO - to speak at the 'Marine Art and History Fortnight' at the New York Yacht Club. The folks there were absolutely wonderful and so were the accomodations! John and I gave our presentation in the legendary Model Room, which has recently been renovated and was exquisite in the extreme. A model of the USS Monitor hung on the wall along with dozens of others - evoking brilliant yacht races of years past. The spirit of the America herself was there as well. I cannot thank the folks there enough - but big huzzahs go to Commodore Hinman, Dr. McKay and Lindsay the wonderful curator of the club!

I was also treated to a behind-the-scenes tour of Christie's auction house by Marie and Gregg - the marine curators there. I had been fortunate enough to be able to purchase a collection for the Museum (ok - I didn't pay for it.....)thanks to the folks at Christie's (we'll do a press release soon!) and since we were going to be in the neighborhood...we stopped by! Marie and Gregg took us to The Sea Grill for lunch and then treated us to a visit with our new collection (which was being shipped out the next day) and with the incredible Peale painting of George Washington.

I also spent some quality time looking for the Naked Cowboy (he wasn't there) and the new Belle & Sebastian single (it wasn't out in the states yet...) and drinking lots of coffee.

I spent the rest of the week haunting areas of Manhattan that I never would have imagined I could have gained entry to - if you'd asked me 5 years ago I would have told you you were crazy!

And yet I found myself at the Century Club having lunch with some of the most wonderful people - and a tour of the building given by one of the members in our company. The weight of history hung heavy in those rooms. The leather chairs, the writing desks tucked away here and there. The quiet of the library...it was truly breathtaking.

New York was followed closely upon by a trip to Portland, Maine. In fact, I met some of my colleagues at LaGuardia to continue on to points north. One Lazy Lobster and a few pints of Shipyard Ale later and I was ready to head home!

This past week I've given two presentations on....what else? More on those later. But I thought I'd take a few minutes to catch up.

It's been waaaay too long.

older shavings :: newer litter

listening to:

Alton Brown

thinking about:

do I need a Libretto?

seems like yesterday...:

homeward bound - 19 January 2010
a conversation with eliza - 20 February 2009
Home For Christmas - 24 December 2008
lately on GMT... - 11 December 2008
museums are go! - 21 October 2008

shameless self promotion:

(~ waterblogged ~)

Obscure Logs

can't live without music !

registered!
clix